My Year In Books: Worst Reads of 2014

There are blessedly few of these and only one truly bad book. I have had the very good fortune of reading some wonderful books this year, which can be read here.

And I mean bad in every way. The writing was cliched and repetitive. The characters were laughably two dimensional. In fact some barely had that many dimensions! The plot was nonsensical with more holes than a colander. The descriptions were pedestrian.

Ladies and gentlemen, the worst book I read this was Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan’s The Strain.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/528/35250313/files/2014/12/img_6270.jpg

Do not waste your time on it!

I’ll also grumble quietly about The Long War by Stephen Baxter and Terry Pratchett and Blackout by Mira Grant, not because there were terribly bad just rather … underwhelming.

I wonder what it says that two of my least successful reads were co-written. I hope the both Messrs del Toro and Pratchett were minor contributors to these disappointing projects.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/528/35250313/files/2014/12/img_6268.jpg

One more co-written book which was so bad I did give up on it was Dragons Of Autumn Twilight by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman. I’d picked it up – well downloaded it – as a trip down memory lane having warm memories of it from reading it as a kid. Alas, some things should not be revisited. Banal. Tedious. Formulaic.

A small part of my childhood died as I read it.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/528/35250313/files/2014/12/img_6269.jpg

2 thoughts on “My Year In Books: Worst Reads of 2014

Leave a Reply

